Chapter History

Iota Nu Chapter

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society

                The Division of Nursing was established in 1975 on the campus of Texas Eastern University. The first program was designed to offer a baccalaureate degree to nurses already having an associate degree or diploma in nursing.  In 1979, Texas Eastern School of Nursing, a local diploma program, requested that the RN-only program at the University of Tyler be expanded into a generic BSN program. The faculty of the program developed the generic curriculum over the following years, and the first class of students in the generic program were admitted in the fall of 1982 and graduated in the spring of 1984.

                In the fall of 1984, Tony J. Galvan, Assistant Professor, proposed that a chapter of Sigma Theta Tau should be established at The University of Texas at Tyler. Ms. Galvan had been on the Steering Committee for the formation of Beta Alpha Chapter at Texas Christian University in 1970. With the approval of Doris Riemen, PhD, RN, Director of the Division of Nursing, and the Faculty Organization of the Division of Nursing, a steering committee was formed.

                The steering committee consisted of Toni Galvan, Barbara Drobnies, Melinda Williams, and Merry McBryde, faculty: Jane Shah and Kristye Spencer, students: and Mary Duty and Judy Miller, community leaders. The Honor Society purposes and bylaws were formally adopted by the membership at the first induction ceremony, May 9, 1985, and the Nursing Honor Society of the University of Texas at Tyler was fully established.

                Sixty- eight nurses, including students, alumni, and community leaders composed the chapter member group. Nancy Weyland, deceased, a recent graduate of the program with a particularly outstanding record, was inducted as an honorary member in memoriam. The second and third inductions took place December 1985 and November 1986 bringing the total membership to 105.

                First elected officers were: Toni Galvan, President; Donna Cronkhite, President-Elect; Doris Riemen, Vice President; Kristye Spencer Stegall, Treasurer; Marsha Nangle, Secretary and Historian; and Merry McBryde and Barbara Drobnies, Faculty Advisors.